## Acequia del Caño

## Continuation of December 4, 2003 Biannual Meeting on

## January 12, 2004

## **Minutes**

(Draft only. Help with any errors; omissions and lapses of memory will be gratefully and greatly appreciated.)

**Members present:** (in order of signing in) Meade Martin for LTM Cattle Co. Inc., Donaldo Roybal for R.S.R., Lany and Chuck Berger, Gary Clark and Kevin Horton, Herman Gonzales for La Mesita Ranch, John Gutting, Patricia Martinez, Erlinda Key, Tay N. Nash, Jack Blum, Loyola Garcia, Roberta Martinez, E. Wade, Geti Cibas, Jim Rogers, Marline and Charlie Lujan, Dolores Romero, Robert Baran, Arsenio Trujillo, Julia Takahashi, Pete N. Romero, Pablo Montoya, and Joe Montes.

President Robert Baran called the meeting to order at approximately 7:10 pm. One hundred and one votes and proxies were present constituting a quorum.

A discussion of how to approve the State Engineer mandated changes to the Acequia bylaws ensued. Julia Takahashi moved and Gary Clark seconded a motion to pole the members with a letter and request that they vote by mail. The motion was past unanimously.

The next order of business was to elect a Mayordomo. Robert Baran began with a discussion of the duties of the mayordomo, and what our options may be.

A request for nominations was made and Bobbie Martinez nominated Jack Blum, seconded by Jim Rogers. Jack agreed to serve. There were no other nominations and Jack was elected unopposed.

The members present voiced their support for the new mayordomo.

A proposal to develop a phone tree to communicate with the parciantes was made.

A proposal to have a simple map of the acequia and its laterals drawn showing the parciantes properties and their phone numbers was also made.

There being no other business, the meeting adjourned at approximately 8:30 pm.

Respectfully submitted by Meade Martin, Secretary.